This framework was written by subject specialists, especially for Classroom Monitor to help our customers tracking assessment in subjects other than reading, writing and maths. It breaks the National Curriculum 2014 into statements that are useful for formative assessment and tracking purposes.

Subject Coverage and Structure

Science assessment is divided into year groups from Stage 1 (Year 1 expectation) to Stage 9 (Year 9 expectation)

The remaining subjects are split into phases rather that year groups to reflect how they appear in the National Curriculum: KS1, LKS2, UKS2, KS3. These subjects are as follows

  • D&T
  • PE
  • Music 
  • Art and Design
  • History
  • Geography
  • MFL (KS1 not included)
  • PSHE (KS3 not included)
  • RE
  • PE
  • Computing
  • Citizenship (KS3 only)

Markbook Terminology and Weightings*

The markbook uses a traffic light system to reflect each pupil's level of attainment of each statement. Each colour carries a different meaning and each carries a different weighting forward to the calculation of the overall assessment outcome. The default terminology and weighting for Rising Stars Progression Framework (RWM) is shown in the image below.

*Please note that you can customise terminology and weightings for your school if required. Please read these pages on customising Classroom Monitor to find out more about these options and the impact they will have. 

Overall Assessment Outcomes - Terminology and Thresholds*

Pupils’ overall scores move through 6 ‘steps’ for each stage of work. The steps are termed beginning, beginning plus, developing, developing plus, secure and exceeding. Secure is roughly the equivalent of the Age Related Expectation.

The pupil’s overall score is calculated based on their coverage of the curriculum content for an ability level of a subject. Details of the thresholds for these scores can be seen in the example table below.

The Calculation Explained

To calculate the overall score, Classroom Monitor checks the total number of statements within that ability level, checks how many statements are set at each of the assessment judgements (hexagon colours), and then uses the respective weightings to calculate the overall percentage coverage of the content within that markbook.


For example, if the total number of objectives in the markbook for Stage 1 is 19. A pupil has:

  • 1 blue ‘exceeding’ hexagon judgements each weighted 1, 
  • 5 green ‘met’ hexagon judgements each weighted 0.9
  • 2 yellow ‘almost’ hexagon judgements weighted 0.5
  • 2 red ‘target’ hexagons, and the remaining 9 statements currently unassessed all counting as 0. 

(1 x 1) + (5 x 0.9) + (2 x 0.5) / 19 = 0.342 = 34.2% coverage 

Based on the threshold percentages for Maths Number at Year 1 this pupil is a 1 Beg+