Subject Coverage and Structure

For both the Oxford Reading and Oxford Writing Criterion Scales there are sets of criterion statements for each year of study, termed ‘Standards’ that run from Standard 1 for reception, through to Standard 7 at Y6.

Overall Assessment Outcomes - Terminology and Thresholds

Within each Standard, a pupil’s overall score moves through 3 ‘steps’:

  • Developing
  • Secure
  • Advanced

The Criterion score is dependent on their coverage of the content and is determined by teacher assessment added to the tiles in the markbook. The thresholds for each step vary for each Standard, but are described in detail below.

Oxford Levels
Each of these steps, for example Standard 1 Secure, links to an Oxford Level showing the appropriate level of text that the pupil would most benefit from. Details of these levels can be found by clicking 

Markbook Terminology and Weightings*

The markbook uses a traffic light system to enable teachers to record a judgement that reflects each pupil’s attainment of each statement.

By default, each colour carries a different meaning which is shown below. It is worth noting that in this framework, only the green tile carries a weighting forward to the calculation of the overall assessment.


The two tables below detail the thresholds for each step within each Standard across the Oxford Reading and Writing Criterion Scales. This includes the total number of statements and the respective thresholds differs for each step and Standard.

*Please note that while there is the possibility of customising the terminology and weightings of any framework in Classroom Monitor, these specific settings have been selected by OUP. Please raise a ticket if you would like to customise this framework. 

The Calculation Explained

The green ‘met’ hexagon is the equivalent of a ‘tick’ in the Oxford University Press handbooks, and is the only judgement which counts towards the overall scores. To calculate the overall score, Classroom Monitor checks the total number of statements within that Standard, counts how many are set as ‘met’, and then calculates the overall percentage. This percentage is then converted into the respective Criterion Score. As described above the number of ticks required and the respective threshold percentage differs for each step and Standard.

Example Situation
For ‘The Oxford Reading Criterion Scale has 26 statements at Standard 3. An example pupil has: 

  • 8 green ‘met’ hexagon judgements,
  • 6 yellow ‘almost’ hexagon judgements and 4 red ‘no evidence’ hexagons weighted 0 ,
  • the remaining 8 statements are currently unassessed. 

The Calculation

8 / 26 = 0.308 = 30.8% coverage 

Based on the thresholds for Reading at Standard 3 this pupil would be a Standard 3 (Year 2) Developing. 

Why choose the Oxford Reading and Writing Criterion Scales’?

“Don't just track progress in English... make sure it happens!”

  • Formerly ‘Ros Wilson’s Big Reading and Big Writing’ the Criterion Scales, fully updated for the new curriculum
  • Helps teachers identify and address children’s strengths and weaknesses
  • Handbooks and Oxford University Press documents provide exemplification materials to support judgements.
  • Linked with the fantastic range of Primary English products from Oxford University Press.
  • Criterion Scales Scores match to the Oxford Levels to guide reading book choices.
  • Schools must give consent for Oxford University Press to be informed the content has been activated.