In Classroom Monitor, all classes and groups are simply referred to using the term 'groups'. Group Management enables you to:
- Set the teachers who can access a group.
- Add or remove pupils from an existing group.
- Set up a new group of pupils.
- Inactivate unwanted groups.
Group Management can be accessed through the login page, using a teacher or admin login. The functionality is the same in both areas; the only distinction being that the admin login gives access to all groups in school whilst using your teacher login will only allow you to view and edit groups that have been assigned to you.
To access Group Management via a teacher login, select Management --> Group Management on the blue menu bar.
To access Group Management via the admin login, select Management then Group Management.
When you enter Group Management, you will see a list of all groups in school (admin user) or just the groups that you are set to have access to (teacher user).
When making any changes in Group Management, you should be aware that if a group is set up to sync with your MIS (e.g. registration groups) any changes that you make within group management will be overwritten the next time that it syncs. If there are changes to any of the MIS groups, they should be done in your MIS and then synced to Classroom Monitor. You can tell if a group is set up to sync with your MIS when there is a date in the right hand column.
At this point you can choose whether to create a new group by pressing the 'Add New' button or edit a group's pupils or teachers by pressing the 'Edit' icon in any group's row. You are then taken through the same process as detailed below.
Group Name: The group name should be entered / edited in this box. All group names must be unique in your school. This means that active and inactive groups can not share the same name. If you want a group to use the same name as an inactive one, you can reactivate the group.
Group visible to: All teachers who need access to this group should be ticked in the 'Can Access Group' column. One of these teachers must be designated in the 'Is The Group Teacher' column- this is for reporting purposes only.
You should press the 'save' button to save any changes at this point.
The 'Remove All Pupils From Group' button is useful if you want to remove pupils but don't want to delete the group.
The 'Edit Pupil List' button will take you to the screen below. From here, you can see any pupils who are currently in this group. If you have just created a new group, it will say 'No records Found'. To remove a pupil from the group, you can just press the red cross in their row. Please note that this only stops them appearing in this group, it doesn't delete the pupil or any of their saved assessments from Classroom Monitor.
At the bottom of the screen above is an 'Add New Pupils' button which will take you to this screen.
You will see a list of all of the pupils in the school who are not currently in the selected group.
Pupils can be searched for using any of the search fields at the top of the screen. If searching for more than one pupil it is usually easiest to search for pupils by year group or choose group name and select their class.
Click the tick box next to each pupil's name to select them before clicking 'Add to Group'.
This group will now be available in all areas of Classroom Monitor for the selected teachers.
Status: A group is either active or inactive. Groups that are no longer wanted can be set to inactive. Inactive groups will no longer show in the group management list and no teacher will be able to access them. A list of all your inactive groups can be found by changing the status to inactive and then pressing search.
You can then reactivate a group by clicking edit and setting it's status back to active then pressing save.